GivePulse enables you the administrator to "archive" an existing user so that the data is still saved for your data collection purposes and it removes access for this individual. There are instances where existing users and members of your network or group are no longer active or you choose to temporarily inactivate them.
This article will review:
- Archive: Archiving a user as a member preserves their GivePulse account without deactivating it. They can still log in and utilize their account outside of the archived group.
- Unarchive: Restore the user's membership to active.
- Remove: Remove a user means they are no longer a part of your group.
- Ban: Banning a user means blocking a user to participate in your group.
- Bulk Actions Archive - Archive multiple users with Bulk Actions for Manage Users Grid.
- Delete: To delete a user email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
From your Group Dashboard, navigate to Users > Manage Users > Select User(s) > Actions > Archive.
The archiving process removes their roles as Member, Manager, Check-in Attendant, and Admin, replacing them with the role of Archived.
Note: Archived users will no longer be members of the group, receive general group emails, nor will they appear on the group's user management grids. Their impact data will remain recorded and viewable. Archived users in your group will still be able to use and access their GivePulse account outside of the group they are archived in.
An archived user:
When a member is archived from the group, they have the option to request membership again, but they are removed as 'members' from the Manage Users grid and will remain archived in the Manage Memberships section, represented by a file box icon.
Users can be unarchived and their information can be exported. However, archived members are not included in messages sent to users. They are no longer listed in the group message lists and cannot access private groups or view private events. Additionally, their name is not displayed on the public people page. Archived users still maintain their profiles separate from the group and can be messaged individually.
The archiving process also applies to subgroups. If a user is archived from a parent group, they are automatically archived from any associated subgroups. However, archiving a user from a subgroup does not affect their status in the parent group.
Archived users can still view the group and contribute impacts.
Bulk Actions Archive Users
You can select multiple users by checking the boxes and select "Bulk Actions" > "Archive" to Bulk Archive Users.
If you need to unarchive a user and re-add them as a member, you can do this by going to Manage Users > Blue Action Button > selecting Archived Users.
On this page, you'll see a list of all the users you have archived in your group. You can unarchive your members by going to the actions column and selecting "Unarchive Member":
Your group may retain traces of archived user data in various instances, such as being registered for an event or purchasing a ticket, as an admin, you would see it under User Memberships Manage page with roles like "Registrant" or "Ticket Buyer". These instances provide data on user interactions with your group, allowing you to oversee and assess long-term user engagement.
There are instances where a member or an individual is no longer a part of a group. To understand how to remove a user from a group, you must know all the roles available. You can find a full list of each role and its definition here: Roles Defined
To remove someone, you can take away their membership role via "Users" > "Manage Users" with the "Action" column drop menu and select "Remove Member Role".
Removed members can request to become a member again.
Banning users will prevent the user from accessing your group or participating in any activities due to violations of the group, community guidelines, or terms of service. User accounts banned in a group are no longer permitted to engage or contribute to the group.
Admins can ban users for excessive 'No Shows' or any violations against the group's guidelines.
Here are instructions to Ban a User.
You will navigate to "Manage Users", and in the upper right corner of the grid, you will see the Blue "Actions" Button and select "Banned Users".
Then it will navigate to a new page, Banned Users. You will move to the Blue Button labeled "Ban New User"
When you click Ban New User, it will take you to a new page and you can select the member in your group in the drop menu 'Name' and you can type notes in the Reason box. Once you are finished, you can click "Ban User Now" to save.
If you decide you wish to "Unban" a user, you can navigate to the same "Banned Users" menu and select the drop Actions menu and select "Unban User"
If you have any questions, please Submit a Support Ticket.